Posted by: erinelizabeth1983 | November 12, 2010

Praise You In This Storm

There have been many awful things happening in my life lately and in the lives of my family and friends. Life has been very difficult.

It’s so easy to focus on the bad and to overlook the blessings God showers on us every single day.

In the movie “Facing the Giants”, the head coach of the football team tells his team, “We’ll praise God when we win and we’ll praise Him when we lose.” We are called to praise Him always. We are called to praise God when life is going well. And we are called to praise Him when we face the storms and troubles of this life.

I don’t always like what God allows to happen to me. I often disagree with how He chooses to bless me, having my owns ideas as to what sorts of blessings I think He should send my way. I will sometimes find myself thinking that what He chooses to do is not enough. I need more. I want more. And I want and need it now!

And then God reminds me… He reminds me that I am not the one in charge. He reminds me how much I don’t deserve any of the blessings He has given me. And He reminds me that, long before I was born, He fulfilled my greatest need: my need for a saviour.

I am a Baptized child of God. No circumstances, no person, no thing can ever take that away from me. I am baptized into Christ.

So, I am praising God. I am thanking Him for His many blessings and waiting on Him to lift the storm clouds in His time and His way. That does not mean that I won’t be frustrated with Him at times. That does not mean that I won’t get impatient. That does not mean that the storms don’t hurt. It does mean that I know God is bigger than all of this and He loves me with an everlasting love. He works faith in my heart and makes it possible for me to praise Him in all circumstances.

1 Thes. 5:16-18 “Rejoice always, pray continually. give thanks in all circumstances for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

Praise You In This Storm lyrics
(Casting Crowns)
I was sure by now
That You would have reached down
And wiped our tears away, stepped in and saved the day
But once again, I say, Amen and it’s still raining

As the thunder rolls
I barely hear Your whisper through the rain, “I’m with you”
And as Your mercy falls I raise my hands
And praise the God who gives and takes away

And I’ll praise You in this storm and I will lift my hands
For You are who You are no matter where I am
And every tear I’ve cried You hold in Your hand
You never left my side and though my heart is torn
I will praise You in this storm

I remember when I stumbled in the wind
You heard my cry, You raised me up again
But my strength is almost gone
How can I carry on if I can’t find You

As the thunder rolls
I barely hear Your whisper through the rain, “I’m with you”
And as Your mercy falls I raise my hands
And praise the God who gives and takes away

And I’ll praise You in this storm and I will lift my hands
For You are who You are no matter where I am
And every tear I’ve cried You hold in Your hand
You never left my side and though my heart is torn
I will praise You in this storm

I lift my eyes unto the hills
Where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord
The Maker of Heaven and Earth

I lift my eyes unto the hills
Where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord
The Maker of Heaven and Earth

And I’ll praise You in this storm and I will lift my hands
For You are who You are no matter where I am
And every tear I’ve cried You hold in Your hand
You never left my side and though my heart is torn
I will praise You in this storm
And though my heart is torn
I will praise You in this storm

Leave a Reply

Categories

