Posted by: erinelizabeth1983 | February 14, 2010

Who Are You?

Who are you?

When someone asks you that question, what is the first thing that pops into your mind? A list of your various achievements and successes? Perhaps it’s a cherished compliment someone once gave you? Maybe it’s an experience that was so amazing it stands out in your mind? Or perhaps it’s your failures? How about a mistake you made that you just can’t seem to forget? A harsh word spoken behind your back or to you? Something else that someone did to you?

As human beings I think we have a tendency to focus on the negative. We focus on our failures, our mistakes, the things people have done to us, things said to or about us, etc. Satan can and does use these things against us to make us forget who and Whose we are. He uses them to lie to us and cause our hearts to doubt our Father’s great love for us.

If we forget Whose we are, we forget who we are.

Do we have any defense against the Evil One’s attacks? Yes, we do.

“Nothing is so powerfully effective against the devil, the world, the flesh, and all evil thoughts as to occupy one’s self with God’s Word…” (Luther, Large Catechism, Preface, paragraph 10) It’s effective because, “the Word became flesh and dwelt among us” (John 1:14). Jesus, the Word made flesh, came to earth and did what God promised Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden: “He has redeemed and released me from sin, from the devil, and from all misfortune.” (Large Catechism, II, 27)

“But,” you may say, “the Evil One is so powerful.” You’re right; he is. However our God is more powerful still: 1 John 4:4 “greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world.” (KJV) In your baptism, God placed His Spirit in your heart: “And you also were included in Christ when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation. Having believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit.” (Ephesians 1:13 NIV) This promised Holy Spirit works faith in our hearts. This same faith is the faith that we are admonished to use against the Evil One: “In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.” (Ephesians 6:16 NIV)

Okay, so we know that God’s Word is effective against the attacks of the devil, but where do we look in Scripture to find the truth of who we are and how God views us? I highly recommend memorizing these or at least a few of them for those moments when the Evil One is attacking you and making you doubt who you are in Christ:

Jeremiah 31:3 “I have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore I have continued my faithfulness to you.” (ESV)

1 John 4:16 “And so we know and rely on the love God has for us. God is love.”

Deuteronomy 33: 26-27 “There is no like God, O Jeshurun, who rides through the heavens to your help, through the skies in his majesty. The eternal God is your dwelling place, and underneath are the everlasting arms.”

1 Peter 5:7 NIV “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.”

Joshua 1:9 “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

Psalm 6:9 “The Lord has heard my plea; the Lord accepts my prayer.”

Psalm 27:1-2 “The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? When evildoers assail me to eat up my flesh, my adversaries and foes, it is they who stumble and fall.”

Psalm 34:18-19 “The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit. Many are the afflictions of the righteous, but the Lord delivers him out of them all.”

Psalm 59:17 “O my Strength, I will sing praises to you, for you, O God, are my fortress, the God who shows me steadfast love.”

Psalm 117:2 For great is his steadfast love toward us, and the faithfulness of the Lord endures forever: Praise the Lord!”

1 John 3:1a “See what kind of love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God; and that is what we are!”

1 John 4:10 “In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins.”

Isaiah 41:10 “Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

Isaiah 43:1 “But now thus says the Lord, he who created you, O Jacob, he who formed you, O Israel: ‘Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through the fire you shall not be burned, and the flames shall not consume you. For I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.'”

Isaiah 43:4a, 5a “Because you are precious in my eyes, and honored, and I love you…fear not, for I am with you.”

Besides all of these, we have the assurance of our baptism. I can’t put it any better than this:

“Satan, hear this proclamation:
I am baptized into Christ!
Drop your ugly accusation,
I am not so soon enticed.
Now that to the font I’ve traveled,
All your might has come unraveled,
And, against your tyranny,
God, my Lord, unites with me!”

(God’s Own Child I Gladly Say It, LSB 594)

Leave a Reply

Categories

